Chesapeake High Educator Named “20 to Watch Award”

Justin Patterson, interactive media production instructor and technology education department chair at Chesapeake High School STEM Academy, has received a prestigious “20 to Watch Award” from the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE). The award will be presented at ISTELive 2023, June 25-28, in Philadelphia.

According to an ISTE news release, “This award recognizes 20 up-and-coming individuals who are already making a difference through their work. Winners have exemplified excellence through projects or artifacts that others can replicate.”

Earlier this year, Patterson was named Region 1 Teacher of the Year by Magnet Schools of America, and, last fall, he was recognized as the Baltimore County Public Schools Magnet Teacher of the Year.

In describing one of his major contributions to Chesapeake High, magnet coordinator and staff development teacher Maggie Cummins said,

“Justin Patterson’s passion for creating educational video games has flourished into a robust magnet program supporting our teachers and community members with engaging experiences by empowering Interactive Media Production students to create video games that directly impact their peers and local businesses. I think we are the only school in the nation where students are making educational game software themselves as a teaching tool for educators in other departments. While these games are being played inhouse, the goal is for systemwide use!”

This project has been selected as a prestigious premier session at this year’s ISTE conference in Philadelphia. Patterson will lead the session in collaboration with his students and three colleagues:

Cummins, Business Department Chair Keisha Maddox, and Science Department Chair Courtney Rohde.

“Justin’s innovative work with his students and colleagues around building educational video games has been nothing short of amazing to watch,” said Cummins. “What makes this [ISTE 20 to Watch] award so impressive to me is that nominations were gathered globally, and winners span from Tunisia to Argentina to Essex, Maryland.”