Parkville HS Student Wins Murray Athlete Award and Scholarship

-photo courtesy of BCPS-

Carter Sparwasser of Parkville High School has been named the male winner of the 36th annual Mildred Murray All-Academic Scholar-Athlete Award and Scholarship prizes. Presented by the Baltimore County Public Schools’ Office of Athletics, the prestigious honors were awarded during a ceremony on May 24 at BCPS administrative offices.

Hallie Shepard of Catonsville High School is the female winner.

“Throughout high school, Hallie and Carter have excelled in the classroom and on the playing field,” said BCPS Superintendent Dr. Darryl L. Williams.

“It is an honor to celebrate their achievements and by extension to celebrate all the BCPS students who are enriched by participating in athletics. By honoring student-athletes, we shed light on the many ways that athletic activities bring us together and teach us important life skills like perseverance, communication, strategy, physical fitness, and teamwork.”

The Mildred Murray scholarships are given to senior male and female student-athletes who have maintained a minimum 3.5 unweighted grade point average for each quarter and have participated in at least two varsity sports.

Each BCPS high school nominates seniors for this honor.

Sparwasser, with a 4.00 unweighted grade point average, is graduating from Parkville High ranked first in his class and is also a member of the National Honor Society. He will be attending Wilmington University in the fall.

At Parkville, Sparwasser participated in cross country, indoor track, and lacrosse.

The annual countywide scholar-athlete award is named in honor of the late Mildred H. Murray, former BCPS coordinator of physical education and athletics.

She dedicated 43 years to promoting excellence in athletics and academic throughout the county, region, and state, and she helped establish the annual scholar-athlete award. Elaine Lindsey represented the Mildred Murray Foundation at the awards ceremony on Wednesday.

Benjamin Joseph

Benjamin Joesph has covered news in Eastern Baltimore County since 2006. He started as a reporter with the original East County Times in 2006. He started East Baltco News and later in 2022.