BCPS Students Honored for Fire Prevention Artwork

BCPS Flickr Page/Lilia Smith, Pine Grove ES-
Baltimore County Public Schools’ Grade 3 students were honored for their participation in the annual Baltimore County Fire Department’s Fire Prevention Poster Contest.

During an award ceremony at Dundalk High School, the five students received awards while 28 others received honorable mentions. Awards were presented to:

1st Place – Alan Rodriguez-Zambrano, Fifth District Elementary School
2nd place – Harper Norman, Sparks Elementary School
3rd Place – Facundo Durand, Pine Grove Elementary School
4th Place (tie) – Lilia Smith, Pine Grove Elementary School
4th Place (tie) – Fatima Umul Khair, Victory Villa Elementary School
BCPS Visual Arts Coordinator Ryan Twentey said, “The fire safety poster contest is one of our most beloved opportunities in the elementary art rooms and is among the longest-running partnerships we have.

“Each year, it combines important fire safety learning with the powerful abilities of art and artists to communicate messages and awareness to others.”

“We believe that successful fire prevention involves educating and making advocates of young people,”
said Jennifer Martucci, emergency medical services lieutenant and community risk reduction manager in
the fire department.

“Young people, like these poster contest participants, already have played an
important role in helping us save lives and protect property by spreading an important fire safety message.”

For the 2022 poster contest, students were asked to design posters illustrating the Fire Prevention Week
theme of “Fire Won’t Wait. Plan Your Escape.”

Students from 11 BCPS elementary schools participated. Prizes are provided by the Baltimore County Volunteer Firefighter’s Association and the Baltimore
County Professional Fire Fighters Association Local 1311.

The prizes were $100 for first place, $50 each for second and third place, $35 each for fourth and fifth place, and $25 each for honorable mentions.

In addition, The Fire Museum of Maryland will display the top five winning posters at the museum for one year.

Participants in the awards ceremony included Fire Chief Joanne Rund; Assistant Chief Jennifer Aubert- Utz; John Sibiga, president, Baltimore County Professional Firefighter’s Association Local 1311; Susan Bollinger, president, Baltimore County Volunteer Firefighter’s Association; A. Aaron Lippincott,
education director, Fire Museum of Maryland; and Fire Lieutenant David Blenman, president of Guardian Knights (a chapter of the International Association of Black Professional Firefighters).

Benjamin Joseph

Benjamin Joesph has covered news in Eastern Baltimore County since 2006. He started as a reporter with the original East County Times in 2006. He started East Baltco News and later Eastcountytimes.com in 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *