BCPS Announces Murray & Allied Sports Scholarship Winners

School system leaders and families gathered at Baltimore County Public Schools administrative offices on June 12 for a special ceremony to honor the two newest recipients of the Mildred Murray All-Academic Scholar-Athlete Award and Scholarship and five recipients of Allied Sports scholarships.

Mildred Murray All-Academic Scholar-Athlete Award and Scholarship
Olivia Gardner of Sparrows Point High School and Roman Kaminski of Dulaney High School have been named winners of the 37th annual Mildred Murray All-Academic Scholar-Athlete Award and Scholarship. The $10,000 scholarships are presented by the BCPS Office of Athletics.

“Throughout high school, Olivia and Roman have excelled in the classroom and on the playing field,” said BCPS Superintendent Dr. Myriam Rogers. “It is an honor to celebrate their achievements and by extension to celebrate all the BCPS students who are enriched by participating in athletics. By honoring student-athletes, we shed light on the many ways that athletic activities bring us together and teach us important life skills like perseverance, communication, strategy, physical fitness, and teamwork.”

The Mildred Murray scholarships are given to senior student-athletes who have maintained a minimum 3.5 unweighted grade point average for each quarter and have participated in at least two varsity sports. Each BCPS high school nominates seniors for this honor.

Gardner graduated from Sparrows Point High with a 3.96 unweighted grade point average. She will attend Shepherd University in the fall, to major in exercise science. During her senior soccer season, Gardner was selected first team all-county, first team all-Metro, and a Maryland Association of Coaches of Soccer all-state player.

Kaminiski graduated with a 3.95 unweighted grade point average and will attend the University of Georgia in the fall. He plans to major in biology on the pre-med track and to play club lacrosse. in football he earned all-county and was selected as Dulaney’s national football foundation nominee. In wrestling he was a county champion this past season and placed third in the Maryland Public Secondary
Schools Athletic Association’s state tournament.

The annual countywide scholar-athlete award is named in honor of the late Mildred H. Murray, former BCPS coordinator of physical education and athletics. She dedicated 43 years to promoting excellence in athletics and academics throughout the county, region, and state, and she helped establish the annual scholar-athlete award. Elaine Lindsey represented the Mildred Murray Foundation at the awards ceremony.

Allied Sports scholarships
The BCPS Allied Sports program, which began in the 1994-1995 school year, is an inclusive program that provides students with disabilities an equal opportunity to participate in interscholastic sports alongside their peers without disabilities. Participants play soccer, bocce, and softball. Allied Sports participants are nominated by their coaches or athletic director for these scholarships.

“This year’s Allied Sports scholarship winners have shown extraordinary qualities that exemplify what the Allied Sports program is all about,” said Dr. Rogers. “They are competitive but compassionate. They are unstoppable yet understanding. They are grateful and giving. They are unsung heroes and outstanding teammates.”

Scholarships of $500 each were presented to:
• Cara Beaufelter, Dulaney High School – Brittney Reese Allied Sports Scholarship recipient. This scholarship is awarded to an outstanding senior female athlete. It is named for Brittney Reese, an Olympic champion long jumper and the original sponsor of the scholarship.

Kehinde Adebowale, Franklin High School – Chase Kalisz Allied Sports Scholarship recipient. This scholarship is awarded to an outstanding senior male athlete. The scholarship is named for Chase Kalisz, an Olympic Gold and Silver medalist and two-time world champion swimmer.

• Leah Ranck, Dulaney High School – Tradepoint Atlantic Allied Sports Scholarship recipient. This scholarship is awarded to an outstanding senior student aide. The award is sponsored by Aaron Tomarchio and Kristin King of Tradepoint Atlantic, a global logistics center currently revitalizing projects in Baltimore County.

• Tyree Gregory, Catonsville High School – League of Dreams Allied Sports Scholarship recipient.
This scholarship is awarded to an outstanding unsung hero and student athlete. The scholarship is sponsored by Frank Kolarek and the League of Dreams.

• Michael Oulou, Maiden Choice School – The O’Meara Family Allied Sports Scholarship recipient. This scholarship is awarded to an outstanding student-athlete who exemplifies outstanding sportsmanship and character, and it is sponsored by Carrie O’Meara and family

B.J. Joseph

Benjamin Joesph has covered news in Eastern Baltimore County since 2006. He started as a reporter with the original East County Times in 2006. He started East Baltco News and later Eastcountytimes.com in 2022.