Local Students Receive Career and Technical Education Honors

The 49th Annual Career and Technical Education (CTE) Student Recognition Ceremony, recently held online, honored 136 seniors from across the county as exemplary students of their fields, and each was named a recipient of the Anthony G. Marchione Award for Excellence.

The ceremony, which may be viewed here, began with greetings from BCPS Superintendent Dr. Darryl L. Williams. It also featured remarks from Ken Gutman, chair of the CTE Advisory Council (CTEAC) and a graduate of Loch Raven High School; and Emilie Cherry, director of high school collaboration for CCBC.

“I am glad to have this opportunity to celebrate the outstanding accomplishments of our CTE students,” said Dr. Williams in his address to the seniors. “Career and Technical Education holds a very special place in my heart because of the strong connections between the classroom and future careers. . . . I can’t wait to see what you do next.”

Added Gutman, “We have highly talented youth here in our county school system, supported by a dedicated group of CTE teachers and professionals. . . . My wish for all of the graduates today is that they find a career in which they can be passionate and can lead others by their example.”

Only one student could be selected from each CTE program at each high school. Honorees were nominated by their instructors from the following fields of study: Business Education, Family and Consumer Sciences, JROTC, School to Career transition, Technical Programs, and Technology Education.

The Marchione award – named for Dr. Anthony G. Marchione, who retired as BCPS superintendent in 2000 and was a devoted supporter of CTE programs – recognizes outstanding CTE students based on the following criteria: Career-program success, academic record, and community involvement and related work experience, either in the classroom or on the job. Each recipient also received a gift card courtesy of the Education Foundation of Baltimore County Public Schools.

The ceremony was hosted by CTEAC in conjunction with the Office of Career and Technical Education and in partnership with The Education Foundation of BCPS.

CTE provides students an opportunity to pursue a sequential technical and academic program of study leading to advancement in a career field. High school CTE programs give students the opportunity to transition smoothly into postsecondary education and to earn college credit and/or industry credentials in a career field of interest.

Eastern Baltimore County students honored in the ceremony are listed below along with the names of the businesses and/or
organizations where they worked or interned:

Dundalk High School
Katherine Bonilla Sorto, College-Career Research and Development
Eric Coates, Business Management and Finance
Layla Monique Henderson, JROTC- Navy
Alexander Raymond Keil, Interactive Media Production
Savanna Morris, P-TECH – Dundalk

Eastern Technical High School
Miguel Acosta, Building and Construction Technology
Alexander J. Gallagher, Information Technology: Networking
Mackenzie Hipps, Engineering Careers
Sydney Monae Knox, Culinary Arts and Restaurant Management
Ryleigh Kyle, Teacher Academy of Maryland
Alyssa Reddy, Academy of Health Professions
Viviana Staicu, Interactive Media Production

Kenwood High School
Justin Feliciano, Aviation Technology
Erik Yahir Izaguirre, Mechanical Construction/Plumbing Careers
Okwuchi Michelle Nwabueze, Teacher Academy of Maryland
Jonathan Rodgers, Graphic/Print Communications Technology
Trennadi Witherspoon, College-Career Research and Development
Anthony Zavala, Advanced Technology Education

Overlea High School
Oluwashinaayomi Adeymo, Information Technology: Computer Science
Keonia Beadles, College-Career Research and Development
Tayquan Fitzgerald, Food and Beverage Management/ProStart
Kevon Henderson, Academy of Health Professions
Anish Magar, Business Management and Finance
Derek Mitchell, Advanced Technology Education
Erica Stewart, Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness

Parkville High School
Isaiah Adesanya, College-Career Research and Development
Riley Barr, Interactive Media Production
Andrew Hesung Han, Information Technology: Computer Science
Peter Njoroge, Project Lead The Way: Engineering
Mercy Nwachukwu, Teacher Academy of Maryland
Jayla Tilghman, Culinary Arts and Restaurant Management

Patapsco High School
Anaya Chinyere Egu, College-Career Research and Development
Mariela Sagastume, Business Management and Finance
Savannah Elizabeth Sparr, Advanced Technology Education

Perry Hall High School
Rohaib Cheema, Project Lead The Way: Biomedical Sciences
Isaiah Crites, College-Career Research and Development
Nathan L Gray, Business Management and Finance
Naomi Horner, Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness
Ja’niyah Johnson, Food and Beverage Management/ProStart
Cyrus McCollim, Information Technology: Computer Science
Emily T Yackley, Teacher Academy of Maryland

Sollers Point Technical High School
Samantha Bacigalupa, Culinary Arts: Baking and Pastry
Albert Cantoria, Information Technology: Computer Science
Andrew Dudonis, Automotive Service Technology
Savannah Kelly, Academy of Health Professions
Evelyn Keyes, Cosmetology Careers
Alex Miller, Diesel Truck and Power Systems Technology
Brandon Paul, Building and Construction Technology
Aya Saeid, Project Lead The Way: Biomedical Sciences
Sejani Sanders, Culinary Arts and Restaurant Management
Antoine Welch, Information Technology: Networking

Sparrows Point High School
Carter Brinkley, Information Technology: Computer Science
De Andre’ Du-Vall, Business Management and Finance
Karli Goetz, Advanced Technology Education
Danaya Moore, Construction Design and Management

Benjamin Joseph

Benjamin Joesph has covered news in Eastern Baltimore County since 2006. He started as a reporter with the original East County Times in 2006. He started East Baltco News and later Eastcountytimes.com in 2022.