BCPS Students Selected as General Assembly Pages

photo courtesy of Maryland General Assembly website-

Baltimore County Public Schools seniors have been selected to serve as student pages for the 2023 legislative session of the Maryland General Assembly.

The students are:

• Josie Choe, Dulaney High School

• Maja Durkovic, Eastern Technical High School

• David Klein, Towson High School

• Aima Raza, Western School of Technology

• Gabriella Wiggins, Franklin High School

• Finian York, Perry Hall High School

The program, created in 1970 by House Speaker Thomas Hunter Lowe and approved by the Maryland State Board of Education, is designed to foster student leadership, educate students about the legislative process, and promote youth interest in government.

Student pages are engaged in activities such as distributing materials and messages to legislators, maintaining bill books, and assisting visitors.

During the 13 weeks of the legislative session, which runs from the second week in January to early April, each page will serve for one week during the first seven weeks and returns for a second week of service during the last six weeks of the session.

Each page is paid a stipend of $55 per day worked to help defray expenses.

The page office arranges for students from outside of Anne Arundel County to stay in page housing near the State House for the cost of $25 per night.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.