Six BCPS Seniors Finalist for Presidential Scholars Program

On the basis of their academic achievements, six Baltimore County Public Schools seniors from five high schools have been named candidates in the prestigious U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

The candidates are:
• Noah W. Duncan, Eastern Technical High School
• Owen D. Fay, Towson High School
• Andrew H. Han, Parkville High School
• Naomi J. Horner, Perry Hall High School
• Kevin Li, Eastern Technical High School
• Ahmed M. Selim, Western School of Technology and Environmental Science

In addition, two previously announced seniors, Sophia Paffenback and Britney Simbana-J of George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology, are candidates in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program for their achievements in the arts.

The names of the Presidential Scholars semifinalists will be posted in mid-April, and the names of the
2023 U.S. Presidential Scholars will be posted in early May. Students chosen as U.S. Presidential Scholars
receive Presidential medallions.

Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for
high school students. The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars based on
their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, and school evaluations and transcripts,
as well as a demonstrated commitment to community service and leadership.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *